Please click this link for a Welcome from the Chair of Governors

Ashton's governing body is a team of seven individuals, including the Headteacher and one member of teaching staff. Most of the group have their own separate jobs, and they all give their time and expertise for the good of the children at the school.

The school has a 'manager' (the Headteacher), but the governing body is ultimately responsible for the educational achievement of the children and the welfare of everybody at school. Together, the governing body and the school leaders set the strategic priorities and then monitor progress towards those priorities.

The full governing body (FGB) meets at least five times each year. There are also three committees: A resources committee (covering financial, personnel and premises matters) a curriculum and standards committee (covering children's progress and development both academically and personally.) and an Ethics and Ethos committee (covering our work as a church school and the ethos of the school.) 

Please click on the links to see the attendance for the FGB meetings and committee meetings since 2017.

Governor Attendance 2017/18

Governor Attendance 2018/19

Governor Attendance 2019/20

Join the governing team!

We are on the lookout for motivated people who would like to share their time and skills with us. If that's you, then please get in touch.

The governing body as of September 2019 is as follows, please click on each highlighted name to read a short introduction to each governor.

Mr Simon Cox
Name Type of governor Registered
Named / committee roles Term of office Recent training

Mr Bernard Day Foundation None Finance & Resources

Ethics & Ethos (Chair) 
17/12/14 - New governor induction
Governance - being a critical friend
(hybrid course) (2015)
Finance training for governors (2015)
Governor Finance (Nov 2016)

Mrs Jude Busari
Headteacher School staff Curriculum & Standards  

Finance & Resources

Ethics & Ethos  
01/09/17 -

Mr Shaun Harker (Chair)

Co-opted None Finance & Resources

Ethics & Ethos  

11/07/16 to 11/07/20 New governor induction (autumn 2016)
Governor Finance (2016)

Mrs Nicola Johnson Co-opted None Curriculum & Standards (Chair) 2016 -

Mr Allen Lee

Parent None Finance & Resources

2017 - Governor Finance Training 2018 


 Mrs Cei Davies Linn Co-opted

None Curriculum & Standards 

Finance & Resources    

Ethics & Ethos

Mr Gareth Goddard Junior Teacher None Curriculum & Standards    

Finance & Resources              

Ethics & Ethos   
2018 -

Mr Simon Cox Parent None Curriculum & Standards      

Finance & Resources

Mr Scott Turner Co-opted None Curriculum & Standards 2019 -


Recently serving governors:

Name Type of governor Registered
Named / committee roles Term of office Recent training

Mr Nigel Milner
Co-opted None Resources committee (Chair)
22/09/15 to 31/05/18 New governor induction
Governance - being a critical friend (hybrid course) (2015)
Safeguarding (2016)
Governor Finance (2016)


Mrs Sue Gentry
Staff (elected) School staff Learning and wellbeing
20/04/16 - 2017
Alex Rowe
Co-opted None Learning and wellbeing

Resources committee

ICT & E-safety named governor
-2016     New governor induction (2014)
Safeguarding (2014, 2016)
E-safety (2015)
Challenge supported by data (2015)
Introduction to being a Chair of governors (2015)
Finance training for governors (2015)

Mr Mark O'Callaghan
Local Authority None Pupil premium named governor -2016

Mrs Sherry Gladwin
(Vice chair)
Co-opted None Learning and wellbeing
committee (Chair)

Resources committee
-2016 Roles and responsibilities of all Church school governors (2016)
Governor Finance (2016)
Chair of governors (planned 2016)

Mrs Bronwen Kenny
Foundation None Learning and wellbeing
committee (Chair)
07/02/15 to 01/09/17 Diocesan governor course (2015)
Mrs Alison Smith Parent None Learning and wellbeing
2016 - 2017